MP assembly polls: BJP’s 1st candidate list indicates focus on seats lost in 2018, 2013


Madhya Pradesh: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has revealed its initial list for the upcoming assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, showing a distinct focus on constituencies it lost in the 2018 and some even in the 2013 elections.

The party has demonstrated confidence in 14 candidates, including three former ministers who faced defeat in the last election.

In an apparent shift in strategy, the BJP released its first list comprising 39 candidates, with five of them being women, for the Madhya Pradesh assembly elections. This move came before the official announcement of the election schedule, giving the BJP an advantage in terms of election readiness and candidate selection compared to its main rival, the Congress.

Read more: BJP releases first list of candidates for upcoming Chhattisgarh, MP polls

The state of Madhya Pradesh, with a 230-member legislative assembly, is expected to hold its assembly elections by the end of this year.

Last week, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), led by Mayawati, a relatively minor player in the state’s bipolar political landscape, had unveiled its initial list of seven candidates, making it the first political party to do so.

The BJP’s selection of 39 candidates for constituencies it lost in the previous assembly polls in November 2018 indicates its attempt to regain lost ground from the Congress, which assumed power in December 2018 but was subsequently voted out in March 2020.

Among the constituencies, the BJP had struggled to secure victory in some during the 2013 elections as well.

A closer examination of the list, which includes several seats reserved for SC/ST candidates, reveals that the BJP has entrusted its confidence to 14 candidates, including three former state ministers—Lalsingh Arya, Lalit Yadav, and Omprakash Dhurwey—who experienced electoral defeat five years ago.

Rajkumar Karrahe, who resigned from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) earlier on the same day, found his name among the announced candidates. The BJP has nominated him to contest from Lanji in Balaghat district.

Read more: Planning a trip to Noida? Steer clear of THESE routes, Know Why

As per the list provided by BJP’s general secretary Arun Singh, candidates Dhruv Narayan Singh and Alok Sharma will contest from Central Bhopal and North Bhopal respectively. Former minister Arya and Pritam Lodhi will be contesting from Gohad (SC) and Pichhore in Shivpuri district, respectively.

The list also features names such as Sarla Vijendra Rawat (Sabalgarh), Adal Singh Kansana (Sumawali), Priyanka Meena (Chahoura), Jagannath Singh Raghuvanshi (Chanderi), Veerendra Singh Lambardar (Banda), Kamakhya Pratap Singh (Maharajpur), Lalita Yadav (Chhatarpur), Lakhan Patel (Patharyia), Rajesh Kumar Verma (Gunndaor-SC), Surendra Singh Gaharwar (Chitrakoot), Heersingh Shyam (Pushrajgarh-ST), Dhirendra Singh (Barwara-ST), Neeraj Thakur (Bargi), and Anchal Sonkar (Jabalpur East).

Other candidates in the list include Omprakash Dhurwey (Shahpura-ST), Dr Vijay Anand Marawai (Bichhiya-ST), Bhagat Singh Netam (Baihar-ST), Kamal Maskole (Barghat-ST), Mahendra Nagesh (Gotegaon-SC), Nanabhau Mohod (Saunsar), Prakash Uikey (Pandhurna-ST), and Chandrashekhar Deshmukh (Multai).

The BJP’s nominations extend to Mahendra Singh Chouhan (Bhainsdehi-ST), Rajesh Sonkar (Sonkatch-SC), Rajkumar Mev (Maheshwar-SC), Atmaram Patel (Kasrawad), Nagr Singh Chouhan (Alirajpur-ST), Bhanua Bhuriya (Jhabua ST), Nirmala Bhuriya (Petlawad-ST), Jaydeep Patel (Kukshi ST), Kalu Singh Thakur (Dharampuri-ST), Madhua Verma (Rau), Tarachand Goyal (Tarana-SC), and Satish Malivya (Ghatiya-SC).

The post MP assembly polls: BJP’s 1st candidate list indicates focus on seats lost in 2018, 2013 appeared first on News24.

Also Read




'Badhaai Do' movie,1,'The Kerala Story',2,'Zeeshan Maggie Point',1,"kerala story",1,@preganest,1,accident,2,Actor Salman Khan,1,Actress Priyanka Chopra,1,Air India,1,Arjun Tendulkar,1,Arshia Goswami,1,Article,4,Bageshwar Dham,1,Barbed wire,1,Bhopal,3,Bike Rider Agastya Chauhan,1,bodyguard missbehave,1,Box Office Collection,1,Boxing Champion Mary Kom,1,Bundelkhand,1,Business,23,Career,1,Chhatarpur,1,CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan,6,codecanyon,3,Comedian,1,Congress MLA Omkar Singh Markam,1,Controversial Movie,1,converting to Islam,1,couples goal,1,creativity,1,Crime news,1,Deadlifts 60 kg,1,Deendayal Antyodaya Rasoi Kendras,1,Delhi airport,1,Delhi metro,1,Development Scheme,1,Dhirendra Shastri,2,Disastrous Plastic Surgeries,1,District hospitals,1,Diwali a National Holiday,1,Donatella Versace,1,DPR,4,Dubai woman,1,Education / Employment,3,Eid Party,1,Eight-Year-Old,1,Elections 2024,2,Entertainment,15,Environment,1,Fashion,1,Female Engineer Uber Driver,1,Film 'Kisi Ka Bhai Kisi Ki Jaan',1,Filmfare Awards 2023,1,first water metro,1,Food,2,Government,1,Hakuto-R,1,health sector,1,IIFA 2023,1,IIT Indore,1,India,4,India news,4827,Indian Muslim,1,Indian news,1,Indore,3,Indore court,1,instragram,1,IPL,1,IPL 2023,2,IT,1,Jagannath Puri Rath Yatra,1,Job,1,Kanya Vivah-Nikah Yojana,1,Karan Kundra,1,Katrina Kaif,1,Kochi,1,Latest news,1,Life Changing tips,1,Lifestyle,9,Lifstyle,1,loss of cat,1,Love Jihad,1,Lucknow,1,Maa Kali',1,Madhya Pradesh,22,Mahakal lok,1,Mahakaleshwar temple,1,main,19,Man naked and garlanded with shoes,1,Mantralya,1,Men wearing skirt,1,Menstrual Hygiene Day 2023,1,Mexican Giant Turtle,1,MIT,1,mobile phone,1,modular kitchens,1,Moon,1,MP Weather Update,2,Mumbai,2,Munawwar Farooqui,1,National,162,National Paper Airplane Day 2023,1,Navlakha,1,News,1,Nick Jonas,1,Northeastern University,1,Nothing Phone (1),1,Osho,1,Pennsylvania,1,pet parrots,1,plants mango saplings,1,PM Narendra Modi,3,politics,1,Pradeep Mishra,1,Profession,1,PTI – The Siasat Daily,3,Rachit Agarwal,1,Rashid rover,1,Realme Narzo N53,1,record-breaking century,1,renewable energy sector,1,Royal deaths,1,Rs 70 lakh,1,Russia Ukraine ongoing conflict,1,Sagar,1,salman khan,1,Sanatan Dharma,1,Sara Tendulkar,1,Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Park,1,Shah Rukh Khan,1,Shah Rukh Khan's Airport Video goes viral,1,Shalini's Unconventional Divorce Photoshoot,1,Shubam Gill,1,Shubham Gill,1,Six-month-old Infant Dies,1,Social Dynamics,1,social media,1,South Actresses,1,South Africa,1,South Indian Comedian,1,Spending husband's money,1,Sports,16,Summer Season,1,Tarek Fatah,1,Tech,3,Tejasswi Prakash,1,Temples,1,Trending,3,tweet,1,Ujjain,1,Ukraine Defence Ministry,1,University of Glasgow,1,US-Canada Border,1,US-India Visa,1,Vicky Kaushal,1,video viral,2,Viral news,1,viral video,3,Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir,2,Water crisis,1,WiFi,1,Wildlife,1,Wired Food Combinations,1,World News,2194,youth,1,youtuber,1,
MP assembly polls: BJP’s 1st candidate list indicates focus on seats lost in 2018, 2013
MP assembly polls: BJP’s 1st candidate list indicates focus on seats lost in 2018, 2013
ASE News
Loaded All Posts Not found any posts VIEW ALL Readmore Reply Cancel reply Delete By Home PAGES POSTS View All RECOMMENDED FOR YOU LABEL ARCHIVE SEARCH ALL POSTS Not found any post match with your request Back Home Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat January February March April May June July August September October November December Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec just now 1 minute ago $$1$$ minutes ago 1 hour ago $$1$$ hours ago Yesterday $$1$$ days ago $$1$$ weeks ago more than 5 weeks ago Followers Follow THIS PREMIUM CONTENT IS LOCKED STEP 1: Share to a social network STEP 2: Click the link on your social network Copy All Code Select All Code All codes were copied to your clipboard Can not copy the codes / texts, please press [CTRL]+[C] (or CMD+C with Mac) to copy Table of Content